Anguish & Anger & Activism & Hope

Sam Orchard’s comic strip Transgender Day of Remembrance speaks to me when I see it at InsideOUT’s art auction in Cuba Street.

InsideOUT are a national organization that works to make Aotearoa a safer place for young people of minority genders and sexualities.

Sam Orchard - page 1

Sam Orchard - page 2

In eight frames Sam makes me feel anguish and anger and activism and ultimately hope that “one day it will be”.

I also love that when I adjust the photograph to high contrast and colour saturation I see the traces of the original line drawings ..layers on layers.

Sam Orchard - high contrast

Leave a Reply

